EXERCISE A
1. b
2. a
3. d

4. c
5. c
6. a
7. b
8. d
EXERCISE B
1. maturity
2. initial
3. undermine
4. menace
5. inevitable
6. vindictive
7. tangible
8. Consumption
EXERCISE C
1. viable option
2. tangible improvement
3. unethical behavior
4. grave concern
5. competitive price
6. tremendous success
7. cute baby
8. initial response
EXERCISE D
1. demonstrable
2. demonstration
3. persuasion
4. persuasively
5. sequentially
6. sequential
7. defiance
8. defiantly
EXERCISE E
1. to
2. in
3. of
4. to
5. into
6. to

7. of
8. to
EXERCISE F
1. Although I washed my hands, they still looked dirty.
2. Diana didn't know how to swim. However, she jumped into the swimming pool.
3. I wouldn't trust Alan with my money, although he seems to be trustworthy.
4. Thomas was thirsty. However, he refused the glass of water I brought him.
5. I'm going horseback riding with Judy this afternoon, although I'm afraid of horses.
6. Anna's father gave her some good advice. However, she did not follow it.
7. Although you have made it clear that you don't want any help, I must offer to help you.
8. Alan seems capable as a financial advisor. However, I wouldn't trust him with my
money.
EXERCISE G
1. left
2. was
3. would
4. OK
5. OK
6. were
7. could
8. OK
9. OK
10. aided
11. died
12. decided
13. lived
14. OK
15. OK